Mineral Fusion Eye Makeup Remover

MineralFusionCover.jpg

I’m going to be clear here: I don’t wear a lot of makeup, especially eye makeup. Hence, I don’t use a ton of eye makeup remover. However, I recently started using the Heroine Curling Mascara, and it’s a tough mascara to remove. So I have resorted to using this product, and if you’re looking for a TL;DR, I don’t love it.

Claims: On Amazon’s description it says

Mineral Fusion Eye makeup remover, easy to use, gel solution utilizes mineral-rich clay to dissolve even water-resistant makeup and clean The eye area. A unique mineral blend strengthens and revitalizes skin while Aloe Vera, cucumber, calendula and vitamin E nourish and leave the delicate eye area soften and soothed. Antioxidant protection and leaves your skin smooth.

There are… a few things that I do not agree with here. But we’ll get into those later.

Ingredients:

Purified Water, Glycerin, Decyl Glucoside, Mineral Blend (Malachite, Smithsonite, Rhodochrosite, and Hematite Extracts) , Calendula Officinalis Extract, Maris Limus (Marine Clay) , Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Extract, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Hydroxyethylcellulose, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin.

Okay, first up, we have some water and glycerin for moisturization. Then we have Decyl Glucoside, which is a gentle surfectant that removes debris. Then, we have the mineral blend to strenghten the skin, some calendula extract, cucumber extract, aloe vera extract, and witch hazel extract for soothing, and Marine Clay to draw out some toxins. Vitamin E is also great for moisturizing. Hydroxyethylcellulose is used as a thickening agent in many products (which explains why this product has a gel texture). Phenoxyethanol and Ethylhexylglycerin work to preserve the product. So the only ingredient that removes the product is Decyl Glucoside, with everything else soothing and moisturizing the skin. Yet, none of this explains the BURNING SENSATION that I get when I try to remove my makeup. The whole ingredient list looks incredible but the actual application is painful and not extremely effective for waterproof mascara. If my mascara wasn’t waterproof I would just double cleanse and be done with it. Perhaps my bottle went rogue, but I can’t say that I would recommend this.

Price: 3.4 oz

Amazon: $10.97 (Free shipping on orders over $25)

Walmart: $10.23 (Free shipping currently)

Mineral Fusion: $10.99 (Free US shipping on orders over $50)

The Run-Down:

This product is pretty unique in that it is a gel. Unlike most watery makeup removers, this product is thick and sticky, and does not soak easily into cotton pads. Furthermore, as mentioned before, it gives me a burning sensation even when it doesn’t get into my eyes. After I wash the reside off my eyes, the sensation goes away but it’s still pretty traumatic. In terms of effectiveness, it’ll remove concealer, any non waterproof mascara and eyeliner, but it’s not great at tacking waterproof makeup. The burning sensation, the interesting texture, and the inability to remove the waterproof makeup just really pushes me to say just get an oil cleanser if you’re trying to do what this remover does. If you couldn’t tell already, I really do not love this remover.

Pros and Cons:

PROS

  • Cheap-ish
  • Good ingredient list

CONS

  • BURNS
  • Not great at removing waterproof makeup

Who Should Use:

I would first get a sample of this and try it on one eye. Then, if it doesn’t burn, fantastic! Some of the reviews I read felt like it was very gentle. Some of the reviews agreed with me and thought it burned. If it doesn’t burn your eyes, you are one of the chosen few, and I do think the ingredients list looks great and is worth a shot.

Rating: ⭐

1/5 stars

I’m sorry, I don’t have anything against Mineral Fusion, but I just know there is a better and maybe cheaper makeup remover out there.


Thanks for reading this post! If you enjoyed it, please leave a like, comment, or share this with your friends. If you want to see more, join the email notification list on the right! Until next time…

4 thoughts on “Mineral Fusion Eye Makeup Remover

Leave a comment